Dubai Sevens LIVE stream: How to watch World Rugby 7s Series

Dubai Sevens 2018 dates confirmed

Looking to watch HSBC Dubai Sevens Live Online on any device ? Here’s a detailed live stream guide for every conference. Get the HSBC Sevens you want legally.

Dubai plays host to the 1st round of the World Rugby Sevens Series 2018/2019- how you can follow all the action. The dates for Dubai’s biggest sporting party of the year have been announced with the annual Dubai Sevens set to take place at the aptly named Sevens on the weekend of November 29 – December 1.


Thursday, November 29, 2018 to Saturday, December 1, 2018
3 Days, Event Today
Location : The Seven Stadium, Dubai
Price : Not specified
Event Type : Sports

Enjoy edge-of-the-seat entertainment as the best rugby teams battle it out at the 49th edition of the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens or catch the high-energy action at this year’s netball invitation tournament. Cheer on your favourite teams and experience a host of entertainment at one of the most exciting sporting and social events in Dubai.

Attracting more than 100,000 fans, the three-day event has much to offer to keep everyone engaged – from sporting action, concerts and competitions to buzzing food and beverage zones. With dedicated family stands and activities, you can also relish a family-friendly experience. Children can enjoy circus workshops, bouncy castles and face-painting, and adults can dance the night away with live music at Rugby Rock.

What is it?

While rugby is traditionally played with 15 players in a team, in the sevens, there are only seven players. Both halves of the game are only seven minutes long (10 minutes for the final) resulting in a final game time of 14 minutes as opposed to the traditional 90 minutes found in rugby.

The sevens was also deemed an official Olympic sport in 2016.

In Dubai, the event began 49 years ago, with Emirates taking over as the main sponsor and tournament owner about 20 years ago.

This year, the emirate will again host both the men’s and women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, acting as the men’s series opener and round two of the women’s, following on from in the opening round in Glendale, Colorado, last month.


This year has an added incentive for both men’s and women’s teams, who are not only competing for the world series title but also for a chance to compete in the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo.

Day one will host the women’s rugby competition. The teams are split up into three pools. Pool C will feature Canada, France, Spain and Fiji. Pool B involves Australia, England, the US and China, and Pool A consists of New Zealand, Ireland, Russia and Kenya.

The men’s rugby games begin on day two (November 30) with Pool C featuring New Zealand, the US, Spain and Wales. Pool B has Fiji, Scotland, France and Kenya. Pool A features South Africa, Samoa, Kenya and Zimbabwe.

The dates for Dubai’s biggest sporting party of the year have been announced with the annual Dubai Sevens set to take place at the aptly named Sevens on the weekend of November 29 – December 1.

The Dubai tournament is the first leg of the HSBC World Rugby Men’s Sevens Series, which next season also doubles as a qualifying competition for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics for both the Men and Women’s teams.

South Africa are the defending Men’s Series champions, pipping Fiji for the title after defeating England in Paris to win the final leg of the 10-round series.

While Olympic champions Australia are the reigning Women’s Series champs, after narrowly holding off a superb New Zealand Black Ferns team in Paris.

Both South Africa and Australia are also the Dubai defending champions.

The men’s and women’s Series in 2018 saw record-breaking fan engagement figures with more than 120 million video views, a 60 per cent increase on 2017.

The 2018/19 will be hotly contested as 15 core men’s teams and 11 core women’s teams compete for their respective titles, and with the series acting as the principal route for qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, it promises to be even more competitive than usual.

The 2018/19 series welcomes Japan’s men and China’s women as core teams after they won the Hong Kong qualifier in April.

This season, the Women’s Sevens Series increases to six rounds with USA hosting the new opening round in Glendale, Colorado, on 20-21 October, 2018.

Rounds two and three are combined events alongside the men’s series, in Dubai on 29-30 November, and Sydney on February 1-2, before standalone events in Japan, on April 20-21 and Langford, Canada, on May 11-12.

The men’s Series will again be contested across 10 rounds from November 2018 to June 2019.

The series opens in Dubai before teams move on to Cape Town in South Africa the following week.

In the New Year, teams will travel to Hamilton, New Zealand, on January 26-27 before both men’s and women’s teams are welcomed to Sydney, Australia, for three days of action packed rugby sevens from 1-3 February.

The fifth and sixth rounds will be hosted in Las Vegas, USA, on March 1-3 and Vancouver, Canada, on March 9-10, before teams travel to Hong Kong on April 5-7 and Singapore on April 13-14 for rounds seven and eight respectively.

The penultimate round of the series will take place again in London on May 25-26 with Paris hosting the finale on June 1-2.

“As we enter an Olympic Games qualifying year, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series promises to again be highly competitive as both men’s and women’s teams look to secure their place, via the world series, at Tokyo 2020,” said World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont.

“Rugby Sevens has seen record growth in awareness in recent years with its inclusion in the Olympics having a profound effect on the sport, attracting an estimated 30 million fans globally.

“The series continues to capture the imagination of global audiences with record-breaking fan engagement figures of over 120 million video views recorded this year.

“The World Series is truly one of Rugby Sevens’ flagship competitions and we are looking forward to watching teams once again compete at the highest level not only for the coveted world series title, but also Olympic qualification.”